Credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 3 hours of legal ethics or professional responsibility, with 1 of the 3 hours in the area of professionalism and civility
Length of reporting period: 2 years
Compliance date: June 30
Compliance group: Attorneys are assigned to 1 of 2 compliance groups reporting in either odd-numbered years or in even-numbered years. The compliance period begins on July 1st.
Reporting date: July 31
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round down to the nearest half hour.
Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: Attorneys can earn up to 12 CLE hours per reporting period via recorded programs as long as the programs are accredited by the Utah State Board of CLE. ABA recorded product formats listed below are approved in Utah.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: The ABA reports attendance for live programs to the Utah State Board of CLE. The ABA does not report attendance for recorded products.
Approval of ABA Programs
The is a presumptively approved sponsor in and is approved for the following formats.
Approved Live Program Formats Live, in-person meetings (e.g., National Institutes) Webinars and teleconferences
Approved CLE Product Formats CDs, CD-ROMs, and DVDs On-demand online courses CLE downloads
State Contact Information
Utah State Board of Continuing Legal Education Utah Law & Justice Center
645 South 200 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84111